top of page
Elroy Webster Cooperative Studies Fund: What We Do


The Elroy Webster Cooperative Studies (EWCS) program provides a scholarship and honorary award to graduate students interested in the study of agricultural cooperatives.


  • Graduate student or law school student enrolled in an advanced degree program (Masters or Doctorate).

  • The program must be an accredited academic program in the US.

  • Any field of study with an interest in agricultural cooperatives. If the field of study is not directly related to agricultural cooperatives, please demonstrate how this field of study would relate to or benefit the agricultural cooperative industry.

  • Scholarship recipient is eligible to receive only one scholarship.

  • Up to two EWCS Fellows Scholarships at $2,500 will be granted per calendar year.  These scholarships are funded by the CHS Foundation.

  • Up to three EWCS Scholars will be awarded $1,000 scholarships per calendar year.  These scholarships are funded by donors of the Ralph K. Morris Foundation. 

  • The same application will be considered for both EWCS Fellows and EWCS Scholars awards.  

  • Funds will be used to cover costs associated with tuition, fees, books, supplies or equipment while attending qualifying graduate degree class or program or law school class or program.

  • Morris Foundation trustees and staff, including their immediate families, are ineligible to apply for a scholarship.

  • The Scholarship will be awarded without regard to race, color, religion, age, sex, national origin, or disability.



Each recipient is encouraged to attend a Ralph K. Morris Foundation sponsored event., e.g., Lyon Family Leadership Symposium held annually in November/December or the Farmer Cooperatives program also held annually in November, upon receipt of the award. The recipient will be recognized at the event.  


We will begin accepting applications in January of any given year. Applications will be taken through September 30 of that same year. The scholarship recipients will be notified by October 31. 


  • Complete an application form (link is below) in the timeline noted above.  

  • Your application must include:
    — A completed online application form;
    — Your undergraduate and current graduate or law school transcripts (unofficial transcripts are acceptable);
    — Three letters of support (recommendation letters).
    — Optional: Additional documentation of your professional development or extra-curricular activities involving cooperatives.

  • If applications are incomplete they will not be processed.

  • Apply online using the link below or you may email the completed application and required additional information to:  

  • Questions can be directed to the business office at or to the Chairman of the Board, William Nelson, at  



The program is administered and managed by the Ralph K. Morris Foundation.  

All eligible recipients will be approved within the limits of the program as stated above and as long as funds are available (on an annual basis) for distribution.

Notification of the status of each request will be sent via email when a decision is made.


Recipients must complete and return to the Foundation an evaluation within 30 days of completion of the class or program.  Evaluation form must be submitted online. 


The Ralph K. Morris Foundation, through the generosity of specific contributions received from friends and family of Elroy Webster, established the Elroy Webster Cooperative Studies program.  Contributions to the Elroy Webster Cooperative Studies program are welcome.  Checks should be written to the Ralph K. Morris Foundation with a notation in the memo line for the Elroy Webster Cooperative Studies program.


Elroy Webster Cooperative Studies Scholarships

This Fund provides financial support to graduate students or law school students enrolled in an agricultural cooperative program or that can demonstrate how their field of study would relate to or benefit the agricultural cooperative industry.


bottom of page